Term Dates

Term Dates 2020

Term 1

Teacher Only Days – 28, 29 & 30 January

Tuesday 4 February– Thursday 9 April

Easter holiday break is at the beginning of the school holidays

Term 2

Wednesday 29 April – Friday 3 July

Tuesday 28 April - Teacher Only Day

Friday 15 May - Teacher Only Day

Term 3

Tuesday 21 July – Friday 25 September

Monday 20 July - Teacher Only Day

Term 4

Monday 12 October – Tuesday 15 December

Friday 16 October– Agriculture Day. All children are expected to be at school for the day as usual to be fully involved in their school & community event.

There are three Teacher Only Days during the school year due to changes in the NZEI Primary Teacher’s Collective Agreement. Dates for these are Monday 3 February, Tuesday 28 April and Monday 20 July.

Public Holidays

Waitangi Day – Thursday 6 February

ANZAC Day is "Mondayised" in 2020. This will take place for everyone on Monday 27 April.

Queen’s Birthday anniversary – Monday 1 June

Labour Day – Monday 26 October

In 2019 the NZEI Teachers Union won some Teacher Only Days (TODs) for all teachers that were able to be used for non-contact professional work for 8 days over the three year period of the Teacher's Collective Agreement. This was a small effort by the Government to recognise the wellbeing of Primary Teachers. The Tauriko School Board has approved Monday 3 February, Tuesday 28 April, Friday 15 May and Monday 20 July - in line with Ministry of Education guidelines.